What to do with leftover Peeps

14 May

Maybe it’s just me, but I love Peeps. However, I almost always buy too many of them, and then end up staring sadly at a poor pile of stale marshmallows.

Not this year.

This year, I used my leftover peeps to make rice krispie treats. Don’t judge me – I was out of marshmallows. Warning: this gets a little gruesome as the peeps melt and their eyes fall out, so not necessarily the most kid friendly recipe.

Don’t believe me? Watch:

Luckily, the final product comes out a nice, pretty pink – so you don’t have to tell people how many adorable bunnies were harmed in the making of these treats.
Image

Peeps Rice Krispie Treats

4 cups Rice Krispies

1 package peeps (approx 12 bunnies)

5 tablespoons butter

1/3 cup cake mix (homemade cake mix recipe here)

Sprinkles

1) Prepare 8×8 inch pan by greasing with butter.

2) Melt the butter and peeps over medium heat, stirring regularly.

3) Remove from heat, and stir in the cake batter mix. Once completely smooth, add rice krispies.

3) Flatten into prepared pan, and add sprinkles as desired.

4) Eat.

Leave a Reply

