Gingersnaps

3 Nov

Truth be told, I’ve never much liked gingersnaps, so I hadn’t ever added them to my list of holiday cookie ideas.

But then I had a friend suggest using them for a crust for a pumpkin cheesecake, and well, it sounded like a good enough idea that I figured I’d give gingersnaps another shot.

I’m so glad I did. These are delicious and addictive and I barely saved enough to make my crust since I ate so many of them fresh out of the oven.

Gingersnaps

Image 2 1/4 cups white flour

2 tsp baking soda

1 tablespoon ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp all spice

2 sticks salted butter, softened

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg

1/3 cup molasses

1) In a medium size bowl, mix the flour and spices.

2) Using a stand mixer, whip the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy – about three minutes.

3) Add egg and molasses, and mix until combined.

4) Mix in dry ingredients, being sure to scrape down edges of bowl.

5) Wrap dough in plastic wrap, and put in freezer until chilled (about one hour). If you need to, use a plate to support the dough.

6) Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Roll out cookies, keeping in mind that they will expand as they cook. Depending on how soft you like your cookies, you’ll want to bake them between 10 and 15 minutes – I’d recommend 10-12 minutes if you like them softer, 13-15 minutes if you like them crunchy. If you intend to use them for a crust (recipe to come!), 13 minutes is the sweet spot.

7) Let them cool on the pan for 3 minutes, then transfer to cooking rack. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

